Who are we?

ALUDVIA, an ensemble at the crossroads of jazz, ancient music and music from India, carried by four musicians experienced in stylistic confluences.

Created by the singer Alain Bertschy, ALUDVIA is today composed of Hannes Fankhauser on double bass, Udhai Mazumdar on tabla & vocals and Vincent Flückiger on archlute

2019

Birth of the group

Eager to explore new musical horizons after two decades of classical singing, Alain invited Hannes, a friend he had met at the Basel Academy of Music – at the time a trombonist – to envisage a cross-over ensemble between jazz and early music. During a concert, he discovered the rich and virtuoso playing of Udhai on the tabla, his favourite percussion instrument. The search began with rehearsals in Hannes’ cellar, the alchemy worked and the desire to present the result patiently elaborated in the Basel cave was felt…

2021

launch

A fourth instrument is needed and Vincent, a lutenist in great demand in the baroque world, is integrated into the ensemble. The archlute wonderfully fills the spaces between the voice and the double bass, its colours slip easily into the different styles and lends itself to improvisation. The first concert given last June was warmly received by an enthusiastic audience. ALUDVIA is launched!

 

...

Development

Renewing the concert experience, developing the repertoire, meeting a large audience… The fifth member of the ensemble to act as tour manager, Coralie – creator of the website – is committed to organising a tour and contacting concert venues. We are grateful to her for this, as well as to Walter Heyna who signed the photos and Frédéric Chappuis for the recording. Our music speaks to the heart and takes time to express itself, because it is woven from diverse origins. Embracing difference, marvelling at encounters, embodying the hope of an altruistic world through a few notes of music…

 

our next concerts

LA spirale

On 21 January, Fribourg will warm up to the lively rhythm of the Indian tabla. But not only that. We will also travel to the past with ancient music and to the planet Jazz. See you at 9pm at the Spirale in Fribourg. We reserve a warm place for you.

21 /01

2023

Trace-ecart

A musical journey through the works of the Trace-Ecart gallery. A unique experience that will make you discover a new world oscillating between ancient music, jazz and Indian rhythms.
An appointment not to be missed at Rue Gruyère 64 in Bulle.

30 /09

2023

our last concerts

schubertiade

Espace 2’s Schubertiade will spread its most beautiful notes in Fribourg. A time to discover or rediscover groups or composers. We are happy to be part of this adventure and invite you to discover our world!

3-4 /09

2022

Bandstadt 22

Twice as many ALUDVIA concerts in Basel at the Bandstadt. 2 concerts to discover the indie-jazz-early music world of the band. At 4pm on Andreaspplatz and at 6pm at Theaterplatz. And if it rains, meet at 8pm at Rheingasse 25, 4058 Basel.

02 /09

2022

galerie l'incubateur

The osmosis between jazz, old music and Indian ragga will resound in Bulle at the gallery L’Incubateur at La Pâla 100, 1630 Bulle at 11am. Do not hesitate to contact us to book.

26/06

2022

Phénix

A concert that officially launched the Aludvia adventure with the public, an intimate and warm atmosphere.

24 / 06

2021

our music

discover who we are with our music

Autumn leaves

Joseph Kosma

the musicians

who is aludvia?

Alain bertschy

After a Master in classical singing at the Basel Academy of Music in 2000, Alain Bertschy sang as a soloist on the lyrical stages of Europe such as the theaters of Châtelet, the Champs-Elysées in Paris as well as operas in Geneva and Lausanne. . In demand for the oratorio, he has been a guest of French festivals under the direction of Michel Corboz and of the Zurich Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Howard Griffiths. Particularly attracted by early music, he performed with Gérard Lesne in the ensemble “Il Seminario Musicale” the Sacred Histories of Charpentier and recorded the Orfeo of Monteverdi with La Grande Ecurie and the Chambre du Roy conducted by Jean-Claude Malgoire. In contemporary music, he has sung in the Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain conducted by Nicolas Farine and performed the Decosterd brothers' work Pendulum Choir on a tour of Europe, Japan and America. His off-the-beaten-track journey, initiated by rock in his teens, now takes him to improvisation, cross-over experiences and vocal performances.

hannes frankhauser

Hannes Fankhauser grew up in Emmental (CH). He attended the school in Engelberg where he began to play the trombone and, as a teenager, was already experimenting extensively with his own bands. After graduating from Basel and Trossingen, he worked as a trombone teacher, played music theater and led the big band at the Basel Music School. During this time he became interested in the double bass and tuba and studied jazz at the AMR in Geneva and at the New School for Jazz & Contemporary Music in New York. Hannes Fankhauser lives in Basel as a freelance musician and plays double bass, tuba, trombone and alphorn in various bands...

Vincent flückiger

Vincent Flückiger was born in Fribourg. He obtained the lute teaching diploma at the Centre de Musique Ancienne of Genève in 2003 in the class of Jonathan Rubin. He continued his studies at the Schola Cantorum in Basel with Hopkinson Smith and obtained an advanced diploma in 2008. He performs regularly in Switzerland and abroad with, among others, the ensemble Les Ombres, Camerata Bern, Les Passions de the Soul, the Old Chapel, A Corte Musical, the Cecchina, the Ensemble Turicum, the Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin and Al Ayre Español.

udhai mazumdar

Udai Mazumdar comes from a traditional family of artists and musicians from Allahabad. Beyond composing, however, he has been fascinated by the tabla and its rhythmic diversity since childhood. In 1981 he began to develop his talent under a master of tabla, Pandit Ashoutosh Bhattacharya, a disciple of the legendary Pandit Kanthe Maharaj. He then moved to Delhi to perfect his art under Bharat Ratna Pandit Ravi Shankar. He lived with him and was introduced to the art of tabla accompaniment by him. He has participated in many famous Indian and international festivals. In addition, he often played with Pandit Ravi Shankar, e.g. in concerts for the royal families of England and Sweden, with Ustad Zakir Hussain for the 75th birthday of Pandit Ravi Shankar. He played at the Durgalal Festival, Delhi, the Saptak Festival, Ahmdedabad, Vasantahabha Festival, Bangalore, etc. His international tours have taken him to the International Folk Festival Hungary, various drum festivals in Germany and World Music Festivals in Rome. Udai was involved in various CD and DVD projects: "Echoes from India", "Fulfillment", "Reverberations-I", "Musik der Welt Bern" and "ShankaRagmala" for Randit Ravi Shankar's 80th birthday, Geet Govind - The Musical with Support from Artlink Bern and Indian national television.

Join us by mail

info[at]aludvia.ch

Join us by phone

+41 (0)77 511 05 50

Wer sind wir?

ALUDVIA, ein Ensemble im Grenzbereich von Jazz, alter Musik und Musik aus Indien, getragen bei vier erfahrenen, stilistisch zusammenhängenden Musikern

ALUDVIA wurde vom Sänger Alain Bertschy gegründet und besteht heute aus Hannes Fankhauser am Kontrabass, Udhai Mazumdar an der Tabla & Gesang und Vincent Flückiger an der Archiluth.

 

 

2019

Entstehung der Gruppe

Nach zwei Jahrzehnten des klassischen Gesangs wollte Alain neue musikalische Horizonte erkunden und lud seinen Freund Hannes von der Musikakademie Basel – damals Posaunist – ein, um ein Crossover-Ensemble zwischen Jazz und alter Musik zu gründen. Bei einem Konzert entdeckt er das reiche und virtuose Spiel von Udhai auf der Tabla, seiner Lieblingsperkussion. Die Suche beginnt mit Proben in Hannes‘ Keller, die Chemie stimmt und der Wunsch, das geduldig erarbeitete Ergebnis in der Basler Höhle zu präsentieren, wird spürbar…

 

2021

Start

Ein viertes Instrument wird benötigt, und Vincent, ein in der Barockwelt gefragter Lautenist, wird in das Ensemble aufgenommen. Die Archiluthe nährt wunderbar die Räume zwischen Stimme und Kontrabass, ihre Farben fügen sich mühelos in die verschiedenen Stile ein und eignen sich für Improvisationen. Das erste Konzert im Juni dieses Jahres wurde von einem begeisterten Publikum mit großem Beifall aufgenommen. ALUDVIA ist gestartet!

 

...

Entwicklung

Die Konzerterfahrung erneuern, das Repertoire erweitern, ein breites Publikum treffen… Als fünftes Mitglied des Ensembles und Tourmanagerin engagiert sich Coralie – die Schöpferin der Website – bei der Organisation einer Tournee und der Kontaktaufnahme mit Konzertsälen. Dafür sind wir ihr dankbar, ebenso wie für Walter Heyna, der die Fotos signiert und Frédéric Chappuis, der die Aufnahmen gemacht hat. Unsere Musik spricht das Herz an und nimmt sich Zeit, um sich auszudrücken, da sie aus verschiedenen Ursprüngen gewoben ist. Den Unterschied umarmen, über die Begegnung staunen, die Hoffnung auf eine altruistische Welt durch ein paar Musiknoten verkörpern…

 

 

nächsten Konzerte

LA spirale

Am 21. Januar wird sich Freiburg im mitreißenden Rhythmus der indischen Tabla aufwärmen. Aber nicht nur das. Man wird auch in die Vergangenheit mit alter Musik und auf den Planeten Jazz reisen. RDV um 21 Uhr in La Spirale in Freiburg. Wir reservieren Ihnen einen warmen Platz.

21 /01

2023

Trace-ecart

Eine musikalische Reise zwischen den Werken der Galerie Trace-Ecart. Eine einzigartige Erfahrung, die eine neue Welt entdecken lässt, die zwischen alter Musik, Jazz und indischen Rhythmen oszilliert.
Ein Termin, den Sie in der Rue Gruyère 64 in Bulle nicht verpassen sollten.

30 /09

2023

letzten Konzerte

schubertiade

Die Schubertiade von Espace 2 wird in Fribourg ihre schönsten Noten verbreiten. Eine Zeit, um Gruppen oder Komponisten zu entdecken oder wiederzuentdecken. Wir freuen uns, Teil dieses Abenteuers zu sein und laden Sie ein, unsere Welt einzutreten!

3-4 /09

2022

Bandstadt 22

2 Mal ALUDVIA in Basel in der Bandstadt. 2 Konzerte, um die Indie-Jazz-Alte-Musik-Welt der Band zu entdecken. Um 16 Uhr auf dem Andreaspplatz und um 18 Uhr auf dem Theaterplatz. Und wenn es regnet, treffen wir uns um 20 Uhr in der Rheingasse 25, 4058 Basel.

02 /09

2022

galerie l'incubateur

Die Osmose zwischen Jazz, alter Musik und indischem Ragga wird in Bulle in der Galerie L’Incubateur in La Pâla 100, 1630 Bulle um 11 Uhr erklingen. Zögern Sie nicht, uns zu kontaktieren, um zu reservieren.

26 /06

2022

Phénix

Ein Konzert, mit dem das Abenteuer Aludvia offiziell begonnen hat, in einer intimen und herzlichen Atmosphäre.

24 / 06

2021

Musik

Willkommen in unsere Welt

Autumn leaves

Joseph Kosma

die Musiker

Wer ist Aludvia?

Alain bertschy

Nach seinem Master in klassischem Gesang an der Musikhochschule Basel im Jahr 2000 sang Alain Bertschy als Solist auf den lyrischen Bühnen Europas wie den Theatern von Châtelet, den Champs-Elysées in Paris sowie Opern in Genf und Lausanne. Gefragt für das Oratorium war er Gast bei französischen Festivals unter der Leitung von Michel Corboz und des Zürcher Kammerorchesters unter der Leitung von Howard Griffiths. Besonders angezogen von der Alten Musik, spielte er mit Gérard Lesne im Ensemble „Il Seminario Musicale“ Les Histoires Sacrées“ of Charpentier und nahm das Orfeo von Monteverdi mit La Grande Ecurie und der Chambre du Roy unter der Leitung von Jean-Claude Malgoire auf. In der zeitgenössischen Musik sang er im Nouvel Ensemble Contemporain unter der Leitung von Nicolas Farine und führte das Werk Pendulum Choir der Brüder Decosterd auf einer Tournee durch Europa, Japan und Amerika auf. Seine Reise abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade, die im Teenageralter vom Rock initiiert wurde, führt ihn nun zu Improvisationen, Cross-Over-Erfahrungen und Gesangsauftritten.

hannes frankhauser

Hannes Fankhauser, wuchs im Emmental (BE) auf. Er besuchte das Gymnasium in Engelberg, begann dort Posaune zu spielen und war schon als Jugendlicher ausgiebig mit eigenen Bands am experimentieren. Nach seinen Studienabschlüssen in Basel und Trossingen war er als Posaunenlehrer tätig, spielte Musiktheater und leitete die Bigband der Musikschule Basel. In dieser Zeit begann er sich für den Kontrabass und die Tuba zu interessieren und studierte Jazz an der AMR in Genf und an der New School for Jazz & Contemporary Music in New York. Hannes Fankhauser lebt in Basel als freischaffender Musiker und spielt in verschiedenen Bands Kontrabass, Tuba, Posaune und Alphorn...

Vincent flückiger

Vincent Flückiger wurde in Freiburg geboren. 2003 erlangte er das Lautenlehrdiplom am Centre de Musique Ancienne de Genève in der Klasse von Jonathan Rubin. Er setzte sein Studium an der Schola Cantorum in Basel bei Hopkinson Smith fort und erlangte 2008 ein Vordiplom. Er tritt regelmässig im In- und Ausland auf, u.a. mit dem Ensemble Les Ombres, Camerata Bern, Les Passions de the Soul, the Old Chapel , A Corte Musical, die Cecchina, das Ensemble Turicum, die Akademie für Alte Musik Berlin und Al Ayre Español.

udhai mazumdar

Udai Mazumdar stammt aus einer traditionsreichen Künstler- und Musikerfamilie aus Allahabad. Über das Komponieren hinaus faszinierte ihn jedoch seit seiner Kindheit die Tabla und ihre rhythmische Vielfalt. 1981 begann er sein Talent unter einem Meister der Tabla, Pandit Ashoutosh Bhattacharya, ein Schüler des legendären Pandit Kanthe Maharaj, auszuformen. Danach zog er nach Delhi, um seine Kunst unter Bharat Ratna Pandit Ravi Shankar zu vervollkommnen. Er lebte mit ihm und wurde von ihm in die Kunst der Tabla Begleitung eingeführt. Udai hat an vielen bekannten indischen und internationalen Festivals teilgenommen. Daneben spielte er oft mit Pandit Ravi Shankar, z.Bsp. in Konzerte für die Königsfamilien von England und Schweden, mit Ustad Zakir Hussain für den 75. Geburtstags Pandit Ravi Shankars. Er spielte auf dem Durgalal Festival, Delhi, dem Saptak Festival, Ahmdedabad, Vasantahabha Festival, Bangalore, etc. Seine internationalen Tourneen führten ihn auf das Internationale Folk Festival Ungarn, verschiedene Trommel Festivals in Deutschland und World Music Festivals in Rom. Udai war an verschiedenen CD und DVD Projekten beteiligt: „Echoes from India“, „Fulfillment“, „Reverberations-I“, „Musik der Welt Bern“ und „ShankaRagmala“ für Randit Ravi Shankars 80. Geburtstag, Geet Govind – The Musical mit Unterstützung von Artlink Bern und des indischen National- Fernsehens. Er lebt, komponiert und lehrt in Basel/Schweiz und Neu Delhi/ Indien.

Kontakt per Mail

info[at]aludvia.ch

Kontakt per Telefon

+41 (0)76 427 37 17